Hawthorn – Take Two

IMAG0154

I finally got around to making my adjustments to the Colette Hawthorn pattern (you can see my first attempt here). This time I decided to make view 3, which is the sleeveless dress variation. The fabric is from a slightly faded vintage bedsheet I got at Wimbledon car boot for £2 with my dad (yes I treat him to the most glamours London hot spots when he comes to visit!)  a few weeks ago.

IMAG0160 IMAG0156

I used a chocolate brown as an accent colour as pink and brown is one my favourite autumn colour combinations. I’m really happy with the fit, it’s a little lose but I like my clothes to be comfortable and to be able to sit down without them bunching everywhere because they’re so fitted.

IMAG0206

For me it’s always a bit of a nightmare to get a smooth finish on a really curved hem, there are a number methods I’ve never tried so I used this project as an excuse to try one out. I used an elastic lace to hem the bottom, this seems to be a really popular at the moment and although it gives a pretty finish to the inside, it didn’t work as well I was hoping. I think that might have been my fault, perhaps I pulled the fabric through the machine a little too much? It does look cute though!

IMAG0161 IMAG0163IMAG0200(Struggled again to take good full body pics of the dress, might have to ask my mum to help out next time!)

FallForCotton300

Ooh and I just wanted to share a new sew-a-long announced today which I’m really looking forward to joining in with called ‘Fall for Cotton‘ hosted by Rochelle from Lucky Lucille and Tasha from by Golly by Gum (both brilliant blogs!). It’s all about embracing fabrics made from 100% cotton and making something with a vintage vibe. I missed out Rochelle previous 1940s sew along ‘Sew For Victory‘, but loved looking through the flickr pool, it was really inspiring! So even if you don’t want to join in sewing its well worth just following along and seeing the amazing things I’m sure people will make.

One thought on “Hawthorn – Take Two

  1. Great job! I love the vintage print! Great way to upcycle a bed sheet! I haven’t had a lot of luck finding cool vintage linens/bedding to use in refashions. This dress is just darling! Very flattering on you!

Please comment...

