Crafty Monday

This is my weekly post to share what I’ve been making, it’s not on a Sunday again, weekends can be a bit busy so I might just permanently move the day for this post.

IMAG2457-horzd

I’ve really got into crochet recently and want to learn everything I can, it’s so exciting when your learning something new and it finally clicks in your head! I went back to the issue of Simply Crochet I bought back in January and found this great pattern for a crochet cushion. I backed the crochet with this lovely yellow vintage fabric I’ve had in my sewing box for over ten years, while the backing is made from a fat quarter I picked up at the craft fair back in March.

IMAG2423-horzdddd

IMAG2440

 

Here is a sneak peak at the dress I’ve been working on for my review of ‘Pattern Cutting Made Easy‘ by Gillian Holman. It’s a modern take on all the 40’s style dresses I’ve been inspired by lately and I don’t think I’ve ever used so much bias binding before! It’s almost finished so hopefully I’ll be able to post the review tomorrow.

IMAG2438

 

Two more books arrived for review last week ‘Just Like Me Knits‘ by Brandy Fortune and ‘Granny Squares‘ by Susan Pinner. I’m totally in love with the granny squares one, right now I would cover our whole flat in crochet if Terry would let me! I’ve already made a start on some socks from ‘Just Like Me Knits’ if you’ve been reading this blog for a while you’ll know I’m a very slow knitter so I figured the sooner I make a start the better!

IMAG2442-horzff

 

I’ve picked up a few crafty bits since my last post:

IMAG2447Paul Smith fabric for Terry’s shirt

IMAG245480s Knitting book from Copperfield secondhand book shop in Wimbledon (love this shop!)

photo

Vintage 40’s sewing pattern – I fell in love with this pattern on eBay and although it says it’s a nightdress I would probably just make it as a maxi dress. However when it arrived it was still sealed(!?) so I’m in two minds as to whether to open it or not!

IMAG2433

Loads of sewing bits from my local RSPCA charity shop, I also picked up some bits here for my spring sewing swap partner (I was quite late in posting Kat’s pack so once she’s received it I’ll do a post about all the lovely bits she sent me which arrived today!)

IMAG2450

 

Project runway pattern free with last months sew magazine – I like pink polka-dot dress (far left) and that the pattern has princess seams – something I’ve never sewn before!

Theshop

(image source: the vintage guide to london)

Lastly since reading Katie’s post on her blog ‘What Katie Does‘ I’m dying to go to this shop called ‘The Shop’ in Brick Lane! It’s literally stuffed with vintage fabric, I’m going to spend the next couple of weeks saving up then go and have a proper rummage around!

2 thoughts on “Crafty Monday

  1. I’m sure we used to have crochet cushion covers like that when I was little, I wonder what became of them?

    That nightdress is gorgeous! I’d make it as a dress too (if I could sew) you should open it, after all, it’s purpose in life is to be made!

Please comment...

