Crafty Sunday

This week has been all about dress rip offs!

IMAG1297-horz-tile1

 

page1

On Tuesday I mentioned that I was going to refashion the dress I bought off eBay into something resembling this gorgeous modcloth dress. I really like how it turned out, even though the stripes don’t match! I tried hard to get my pattern pieces to fit, but although there was ample fabric it was all awkward shapes and I just couldn’t get the stripes to match. I haven’t found the perfect buttons to run down the front yet and I didn’t have enough fabric to make the matching belt without it looking totally patch worked.

df8ccc4bf6a2977a5b073d39a85237bf-tile1

 

page22

I finished off this polka dot dress yesterday, it was suppose to be based on the super cute casual Top Shop dress (no longer available), but once I added the sleeves and snazzy buttons it kinda took on a 80s vibe. The bodice is a modification of a Sarai Mitnick pattern from her ‘Colette Sewing Handbook‘ (which is amazing! Review coming soon) while the skirt is just a simple gather and the sleeves I just made up as I went along. It’s really comfy and a perfect fit, I’ll post a pic of me wearing both during ‘Me Made May’ which starts on Wednesday.

Untitled

IMAG1401

 

 

I haven’t really bought many crafty bits this week, I did pop into my local RSPCA charity shop to check out there £1 clothes rail to see if there was anything worth refashioning, but just ended up getting these cute knitting needles. I took my daughter with me as she loves the money box and kept pestering me until I took  her photo with him!

521689_455796681170068_86972607_n

Last weekend we all went to Wimbledon car boot and above is a quick preview of the lovely bits I bought. I’m heading to another one this afternoon with the girls so I’ll do a post about both during the week.

sss_13_xl

This week I signed up for Kestrel Makes Spring Swap where people all over the world swap sewing bits and bobs, I’m exciting to choice some nice things and see what I get in return. If your interested you can sign up here anytime before the 1st May.

4 thoughts on “Crafty Sunday

  1. Nice items, well done 🙂 hope you find more things at the sunday car boot sale today!
    that RSPCA shop sounds interesting, sadly there isn’t one close here unless I get to the one in Kentish Town..

  2. very fun! i can’t wait to see what the dress looks like on. both are super cute! hope you found more goods at the car boot sale. when i visited my sister and her fam over the holidays (in kent) all the car boot sales were closed for the holidays. i was SO bummed!

  3. Pingback: Me Made May – Week One |

  4. Pingback: Me Made May – Week Three |

Please comment...

