Arthur Rackham – 1st Edition Sleeping Beauty

IMAG0756

I’ve owned this first edition of Sleeping Beauty illustrated by Arthur Rackham for a couple of years now and it’s so beautiful I thought I’d do a quick post to share it. For those who don’t know Rackham was a famous British illustrator in the early 20th century known for his unique monochrome style, you can read more about him here on The Arthur Rackham Society site. He’s one of my all time favorite artists so when I found this quite shabby 1st edition selling on eBay for £20 I had to buy it! It dates to 1921, the binding is in poor condition, a few pages are missing from the back and there is some slight foxing, but if it was in mint condition it would have cost a few hundred, way out of my budget. I actually bought it with the intention of taking the plates out and framing them, but I just haven’t had the heart to cut it up. Here are some of the lovely illustrations :-

IMAG0766-tileIMAG0765-tile

IMAG0844-horz

I also own two more hardback books illustrated by Rackham a 1978 edition of “Poe’s Tales of Mystery” and a modern copy of  “Alice in Wonderland”. I really want an early edition of J A Barrie’s “Peter Pan”  illustrated by Rackham.

rackham-peter-pan-in-kensington-gardens

3 thoughts on “Arthur Rackham – 1st Edition Sleeping Beauty

Please comment...

