Crafty Sunday – Week Six

IMAG0428

Its Sunday again! Time to share all my crafty projects and finds, as you can see above I finished one my paintings for our kitchen. I’m really pleased with how it came out (wonky lines and all!) now I’ve got to get started on the next one, it was taking me ages to pick something to paint but then I spotted this Tick Tock tea box and I was sold.

IMAG0431

I made a start on Dress S (from The Stylish Dress Book), actually it’s almost finished I found the instructions a little harder to follow than Dress E and the order of them seemed a bit off as well. I added more material to the skirt than suggested to give a more comfortable fit, I’m not sure whether or not to add the sleeves as I quite like it how it is. The one problem I did find is that the bodice is too short, so it’ll need to be worn with a good bra and a belt, if I make this pattern again I’ll add an extra couple of inches so it sits right.

IMAG0368

IMAG0381

khkjh

I still haven’t been exploring for a wool shop, but have heard of a good one in Battersea I intent visit next week. So the bolero cardigan is still on hold until I get the right sort of wool. Instead this week I started knitting Lily this cute fairisle pattern skirt from a pamphlet free with last months issue of Knitter magazine.

IMAG0376

Lastly I picked up these 70’s/early 80’s craft books at a couple of charity shops, there great and packed full of useful information and patterns. I’m intending to do a full post on them during the week, so I thought I’d just share a few pictures today.

IMAG0392 IMAG0412 IMAG0405 IMAG0395IMAG0402

Why yes those are pictures of  knitted lederhosen, a knitted sailor costume and a man wearing a ladies jumper! Also one of the most amazingly beautiful patchwork quilts I’ve ever seen.

8 thoughts on “Crafty Sunday – Week Six

  1. Love the painting and fair isle knit. I have a bit of an obsession with fair isle. Thanks for stopping by Tales from a Teapot.

Please comment...

